BUDGET BLUES

Philip Hammond

It is reported that the Chancellor of the Exchequer, Philip Hammond, has presented a dull budget devoid of any interesting detail.

Budgets are so extremely dull,
Of facts and figures always full,
But I hope if I write in rhyme,
It may brighten your reading time.

So I thought I would have a go,
But then I realised, Oh blow!
The man in charge this time you see,
Is grey as grey as grey can be.

He has grey hair, wears a grey suit,
A dark grey car for his commute,
And on his spreadsheets so they say,
The cells are shaded out in grey.

So maybe my task’s much too hard,
A challenge even for the Bard,
His books have stood the test of time,
While I’ve just ten more p on wine.

Image – Flickr

Leave a Reply

